2013 Monaco Grand Prix : Rosberg Wins

Nico Rosberg wins the 2013 Monaco Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg takes the win at action-packed Monaco Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg finally converted Mercedes’ strong qualifying performance into a race win at the 2013 Monaco Grand Prix. It was the German marquee’s first victory of the 2013 season; made all the more impressive due to the two safety cars and red flag that disrupted proceedings.

Nico Rosberg wins 2013 Monaco Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg wins an action packed 2013 Monaco Grand Prix © 2013 AMG Mercedes GP

A one-two finish for Mercedes didn’t materiliase though as Lewis Hamilton was forced to settle for P4 behind the Red Bulls of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber, who finished in 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

When the lights went out, Rosberg maintained his lead over the chasing pack, establishing a two second advantage within the opening laps.

Hamilton also held his position from qualifying early on, but was behind the Red Bulls following his safety car affected pitstop.

The Brit tried in vain to overtake Webber for the remainder of the race, but it was ultimately to no avail as the Australian repeatedly quashed Hamilton’s advances.

Felipe Massa replicated his crash in FP3 at Sainte Devote which subsequently saw the emergence of the safety car from the pits.

A red flag was waved when Pastor Maldonado (Williams) connected with Marussia’s Max Chilton. The Venezualean crashed violently into the Tabac barriers as a result of the coming together between the pair.

The Williams driver though was unharmed in the incident. Chilton was handed a drive-through penalty by the stewards.

Race winner, Rosberg, was unfazed by events, and took the victory with Vettel, Webber and Hamilton crossing the line behind him some several seconds apart from one another.

Adrian Sutil managed to secure P5 after impressive passes on Jenson Button (McLaren), and Fernando Alonso (Ferrari).

Adrian Sutil - 2013 Monaco Grand Prix

Adrian Sutil (Force India) ahead of Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) and Jenson Button (McLaren) at the 2013 Monaco Grand Prix © 2013 Sahara Force India

The German was aided in his advance through the field by an incident between Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus) and McLaren’s Sergio Perez. Raikkonen suffered a puncture on his car, but fought back, and took the P10 ahead of Sauber’s Niko Hulkenberg who he passed on the final lap.

Perez was forced to bring his unsavoury race to an end as the damage to his car was terminal.

Button crossed the line in sixth, having battled fiercely for position earlier on in the Grand Prix with his Mexican team-mate. Perez had shown no sign of surrendering position, cutting the chicane twice to hold off the Brit’s advances.

However, Perez was ordered to let Button past, before he retook the place several laps later.

Jenson Button leads Sergio Perez at the 2013 Monaco Grand Prix

Jenson Button and Sergio Perez (McLaren) fight for position in Monaco. © 2013 Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

He then successfully passed Alonso, but his contact with Raikkonen prevented him from crossing the line.

Alonso ultimately finished in P7, trailing behind Button in the traffic jam that ensued behind Perez as he limped towards the pits.

Toro Rosso’s Jean Eric-Vergne came eighth after starting the race in P10, while Paul di Resta’s (Force India) one-stop strategy saw him finish the race in ninth after lining up in 17th position.

Romain Grosjean crashed into the back of Daniel Ricciardo which brought out the final safety car. The incident was adjudged to have been the Frenchman’s fault, and he will take a ten-place grid penalty at the next Grand Prix in Canada, as a result.

Marussia’s Jules Bianchi race ended after he came into contact with the barriers at Sainte Devote, due in no small part to the damage sustained on his car as a result of debris from the Chilton/Maldonado incident.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 2h17m52.056s
2. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault + 3.888s
3. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault + 6.314s
4. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes + 13.894s
5. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes + 21.477s
6. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes + 23.103s
7. Fernando Alonso Ferrari + 26.734s
8. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 27.223s
9. Paul Di Resta Force India-Mercedes + 27.608s
10. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault + 36.582s
11. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari + 42.572s
12. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault + 42.691s
13. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari + 43.212s
14. Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth + 49.885s
15. Giedo van der Garde Caterham-Renault + 1m02.590s


Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes 72 laps
Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 63 laps
Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 61 laps
Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth 58 laps
Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 44 laps
Felipe Massa Ferrari 28 laps
Charles Pic Caterham-Renault 7 laps

© 2013 Grand Prix Line. All Rights Reserved.